Skip to content

missfitz63dotcom

Random thoughts from a woman in love

I am in love with a big (65 lb), fluffy (understatement) Sheltie named Beethoven. I melt when he turns his milk-chocolate eyes up to me, eyebrows arched, one ear perked and the other flopping over, smiling that Sheltie-smile.  *sigh*   He’s the smartest dog with whom I have ever shared a home.  He knows people by name, and not just the folks who live with him.  In a room full of people, I can ask him to bring something to Auntie Joyce, and he does it!  I don’t point to her, she doesn’t call over to him.  He just KNOWS.  If I ask him “Where’s Jeff?”, he’ll go to the front door, bark and wait.  Jeff is his boy.  Jeff is grown now and has moved out on his own, but Beethoven checks his room almost daily – I think he’s hoping Jeff will magically appear on the bed.  I sometimes join him in hoping Jeff will magically appear…I, too, miss my boy.

When I rescued B, he was on death row because he was considered “dangerously people-aggressive”.  I took him home with the knowledge that he would be euthanized if I couldn’t get him to change his ways within 3 months.   I took his muzzle off,  massaging his tummy as he lay with his head in my lap.  Poor thing – he wasn’t mean.  He was terrified!  His previous owner beat the crap out of him – that is bound to leave a psychological mark or two, ya think?  Three months of consistent discipline and more love than any one dog should be able to handle, and he was a different dog.  He passed the Canine Good Citizen test with flying colors, and the County exonerated him of all previous transgressions.  Whew!  I don’t think I could have handed him over if he didn’t pass – we’d probably be hiding in Canada right now!  We’ve been a happy team for 7 years now.  He is my friend, confidant, bed warmer and all-around buddy!  Now if I could just get him to stop stealing the fresh loaves of bread off the counter…he’s quickly making himself an enemy of Steve, the bread baker in the house.  I swear I saw Steve googling dog recipes the other day…

Tags: , ,

